» » Oregon - Ecotopia
Oregon - Ecotopia FLAC
Contemporary Jazz
Oct 1987
ECM Records
ECM 1354, 833 120-2
FLAC size:
1406 mb
MP3 size:
1329 mb
WMA size:
1173 mb


Composed By – Oregon
Composed By – Ralph Towner
Composed By – Ralph Towner
4Twice Around The Sun
Composed By – Ralph Towner
Composed By – Ralph Towner
6Leather Cats
Composed By – Glen Moore, Samantha Moore
7Song Of The Morrow
Composed By – Collin Walcott
Composed By – Ralph Towner


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
ECM 1354, 833 120-1Oregon Ecotopia ‎(LP, Album)ECM Records, ECM RecordsECM 1354, 833 120-1Germany1987
ECM 1354, 422 833 120-2Oregon Ecotopia ‎(CD, Album, RP)ECM Records, ECM RecordsECM 1354, 422 833 120-2USUnknown
833 120-1Oregon Ecotopia ‎(12", Album)ECM833 120-1US1987
ECM 1354, 833 120-1Oregon Ecotopia ‎(LP, Album, Promo)ECM Records, ECM RecordsECM 1354, 833 120-1Germany1987
833 120-4Oregon Ecotopia ‎(Cass, Album)ECM Records833 120-4Canada1987


  • BassGlen Moore
  • Classical Guitar, Twelve-String Guitar, Piano, Synthesizer [Synthesizers]Ralph Towner
  • Design [Cover Design]Barbara Wojirsch
  • Drum MachineRalph Towner (tracks: 1)
  • Electronic Wind Instrument [Wind Driven Synthesizers]Paul McCandless (tracks: 3, 8)
  • EngineerMartin Wieland
  • Oboe, English Horn, Soprano SaxophonePaul McCandless
  • ProducerManfred Eicher
  • Tabla, PercussionTrilok Gurtu


Digital Recording, March 1987
Tonstudio Bauer, Ludwigsburg

An ECM Production

© 1987 ECM Records GmbH
℗ 1987 ECM Records GmbH

Printed in W. Germany


  • Barcode: 042283312029
  • Matrix / Runout: 833 120-2 01
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 2516
  • SPARS Code: DDD


  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – ECM Records GmbH
  • Copyright (c) – ECM Records GmbH
  • Recorded At – Tonstudio Bauer
  • Manufactured By – PDO, Germany
  • Made By – PDO, Germany



Ecotopia is an album by American world musicjazz group Oregon featuring Ralph Towner, Paul McCandless, Glen Moore, and Trilok Gurtu, who replaced Collin Walcott following his accidental death, recorded in 1987 and released on the ECM label. It is no wonder that he began the ECM New Series a few years before, given the junk churned out by some of label's stable between 1983 and 1988. Oregon - Ecotopia 1987. To favorites 1 Download album. Listen album. Songs in album Oregon - Ecotopia 1987. Oregon - Twice Around The Sun. Oregon - Innocente. Oregon - WBAI. Oregon - Zephyr. Oregon - Ecotopia. Oregon - Leather Cats. Oregon - Redial. Oregon - Song Of The Morrow. That said, and allowing for the exception that Oregon was leaning in a somewhat, shall we say, more accessible direction before Walcott's untimely demise, there is no excuse for this waste of studio time and Manfred Eicher's energy. It is no wonder that he began the ECM New Series a few years before, given the junk churned out by some of label's stable between 1983 and 1988, and this record is a stellar example. Listen free to Oregon Ecotopia Twice Around The Sun, Innocente and more. 8 tracks 48:22. Ecotopia, 1987. Innocente, 06:19. Wbai, 01:59. Album 1987 8 Songs. Jazz 1987. from Beyond Words by Oregon. Digital Track. Streaming Download. Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Purchasable with gift card. Buy Digital Track. 1 USD or more. Buy the Full Digital Album. from Beyond Words, released September 15, 1995 Ralph Towner - Distant Hills Music. jazz Eugene. Surely enough, in 1987, Oregon released its first album with Gurtu, Ecotopia. And it ushered in two new aspects of Oregon. The first was a more direct use of synthesizers although Towner had used them on two previous albums, they were used mostly for flavoring. On Ecotopia, they are front and center in two compositions Twice Around the Sun, Ecotopia and distinct elements of two others Leather Cats, Song of the Morrow. Released: Mar album by OregonReleased1987RecordedMarch 1987GenreChamber jazz, ethno jazz, folk jazz, world fusion, jazz fusion, new-ageLength48:22Lab. Zephyr - 5:55. Ecotopia - 5:06. Leather Cats Glen Moore, Samantha Moore - 7:39. ReDial - 5:59. Song of the Morrow Collin Walcott - 5:16. Recorded at Tonstudio Bauer in Ludwigsburg, West Germany in March 1987. Paul McCandless - soprano saxophone, oboe, English horn, wind driven synthesizers